WHISPERS

Written in 2006, in 2011 I submitted this poem using the pen name Cordelia Deeter. It was published in the book Pagan Writers Presents – Samhain. It appears in this book on page 86.

Photos shared on this page are ones I took in various cemeteries.

Whispers

In the graveyard, dark and bleak,

Silent whispers, the spirits speak.

Under the cold and weathered stones,

Lie many unsettled, restless bones.

Unfinished works, words unspoken,

Regrets, desires and hearts that are broken.

Wanting to console those left behind,

Hoping their words penetrate the human mind.

In the shadows, out of sight,

Spirits lurking in the night.

Prospect Hill Cemetery, York, PA
Greenmount Cemetery, York, PA
Oak Grove Cemetery, St. Mary’s, GA
Prospect Hill Cemetery, York, PA

About Lisa Ann Deeter

Most importantly, I am a wife, mother and Nana. My writing had fallen by the wayside for a bit. In 2022 I started to let my muse play again. I love history, especially the Victorian Era of England and the United States. I am also interested in the Colonial Era of America. Genealogy is a passion. Other interests include Celtic & Egyptian history and mythology. As a self-proclaimed Christmas Elf, I love carrying on family traditions during the holidays. Christmas is my favorite holiday with Halloween a VERY close second. No corner of the house is undecorated for these holidays! I share a love of nature with my husband. We honor the earth and enjoy the time we spend outdoors together.
This entry was posted in Autumn, Halloween. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment